BUSINESS TALKS

I made a startling discovery this week.  I realized that after nearly two decades as a “business woman,” I didn’t actually know the first thing about what business really is.  It all kind of happened in the blink of an eye.

I was reading a story about how corrupt and predatory banks and their payday lending practices are. Now, I don’t mean to single banks out, because you can pretty much flip to any channel and somebody’s talking about business being corrupt, being untrustworthy, being in a slump, being hard for the little guy, yadda yadda yadda.

But as I was reading about the banks, I found myself wondering when it all went so horribly wrong. Surely the first guy who went into the banking business wasn’t out to swindle his fellowman. Surely the first person who carved a wooden block into a wheel wasn’t motivated by a desire to overcharge everyone else who would, in turn, want a new fangled wheelie thing.

Surely business, at it’s core, is as full of goodness and potential as the rest of us.

Which is when it occurred to me.  Business and corporate culture are not the same thing.

Tada!

Wow. Turns out I haven’t spent two decades in business. I’ve spent two decades in the warped, mutated expression of business that defines Corporate America. And while I know corporate culture very well, I’ve never broken free from it long enough to truly get to know business at all.

So I opened up my journal and started a conversation with business. I said, “Hiya, Business! If you don’t mind me asking, who the hell are you?” And I’ll be damned if business didn’t start talking back.

Here’s what it said:

“I am the current of energy that is created when one soul says I am ready to give and another says I am ready to receive.

When one soul says I am ready to teach, and another says I am ready to learn.

When one soul says I am ready to succeed and another says I am ready to support.

When one soul says I am ready to open my doors, and another says I am ready to come in.

When one soul says I am ready to grow, and another soul says so am I.

I am the currency of connection. Of collaboration.  Of Creation.

And when one is in the business of truly living, then I am in the business of making living worthwhile.

By allowing you to create stock in yourself.

Exchange the commodities that lie within.

Expand your development.

Merge in order to grow.

Offer shares of your passion with the world.

Invest in human bonds.

Thus increasing your interest and true worth.

And profiting in every way imaginable.

Know this: There are no parody products in the eyes of business. For there are no parodies on this planet. Only unique, one-of-a-kind treasures. With riches beyond measure waiting to be distributed through this currency of exchange also known as business.”

Well, dang… Here’s wishing you all the best business has to offer!

       © 2002 The Book of Duh, Merry Carole Powers and Sarah Lorraine Feit

4 thoughts on “BUSINESS TALKS

Leave a Reply

